A Place to Play: The People and Stories Behind 101 GAA Grounds


Humphrey Kelleher

Contributing Editor, Dr Dónal McAnallen

A richly illustrated and vibrant history of GAA stadia in all 32 counties and beyond, featuring all-new drone photography and wide-ranging and hugely entertaining historical information about each location


October 2023

Shortlisted for the An Post Best Irish-Published Book of the Year 2023

Buy the eBook > ISBN: 9781785374807 Categories: , , ,


In every province and county in Ireland, GAA grounds are cornerstones of culture and community. They are imbued with history and their terraces echo with the sounds of decades, even centuries, of spirited sporting battles.

In this book, the first of its kind, Humphrey Kelleher has created a vibrant record of 101 GAA county grounds in every corner of the country.

Each GAA ground featured has served as a county ground at some stage in its lifetime. Named for saints, landowners, political figures and more, every one has a unique and absorbing history. Alongside these fascinating stories, the author, in collaboration with historian Dónal McAnallen, chronicles the development of the grounds over the years, and the often surprising ways that funds were raised to do so.

All thirty-two counties feature, and it doesn’t stop there; the book also takes us to London and to New York, where the grounds reflect the lasting and far-reaching influence of the GAA beyond these borders.

With stunning new aerial drone photography by the author, this exceptional book offers an insightful new perspective on the places our GAA clubs and counties call home.

Praise for A Place To Play

‘This is a marvellous book, full of brilliant historical nuggets, rich in detail and deep with research. A non-negotiable addition to the bookshelf in any GAA house in the country.’ – Malachy Clerkin, The Irish Times

A Place to Play captures the essence of the GAA.’ – Irish Examiner 

‘An ideal present.’ – Sunday Independent 


About the Author

Humphrey Kelleher is a GAA man to the core, with a particular passion for hurling. He managed the Dublin senior hurling team in 2004 and 2005, and has successfully coached a number of Dublin club hurling teams. He represented his native Waterford in hurling and football at various levels, and spent most of his working life in Dublin with the Bank of Ireland. He was co-author of the ‘Dublin Hurling Blueprint’ (2001) and author of GAA Family Silver: The People and Stories Behind 101 Cups and Trophies (2013).




Clare – Ennis – Daly Tulla – Miltown Malbay
Cork – Páirc Ui Chaoimh – Páirc Uí Rinn – Fermoy – Mallow
Kerry – Killarney – Listowel – Tralee
Limerick – Páirc na nGael Limerick – Askeaton – Sean MacGerailt Kilmallock
Tipperary – Clonmel – Thurles – McDonagh Nenagh
Waterford – Walsh Park Waterford – Fraher Field Dungarvan


Carlow – Bagenalstown – Dr Cullen Park Carlow – Tullow
Dublin – Croke Park – Parnell Park – O’Toole Park
Kildare – Geraldine Park Athy – Naas – Newbridge
Kilkenny – Nowlan Park Kilkenny – St Lachtain’s Freshford – Locke Callan
Laois – O’Moore Portlaoise – Fr Breen Abbeyleix – Kelly Daly Rathdowney
Longford – Pease Park Longford – Leo Casey Ballymahon
Louth – St Mary’s Ardee – St Brigid’s Dowdallshill Dundalk – Drogheda
Meath – Páirc Tailteann Navan – Colmcille Kells – St Loman’s Trim – Kilmessan
Offaly – Páirc Park Tullamore – St Brendan’s Birr
Westmeath – Pairc Chiaran Athlone –Mullingar
Wexford – Wexford Park – Enniscorthy – New Ross
Wicklow – Arklow –Aughrim –Ashford


Galway – Kenny Athenry – Duggan Ballinasloe – Pearse Stadium Galway – Tuam
Leitrim – St Mary’s Cloone – Sean O’Heslin’s Ballinamore – Sean MacDiarmada Carrick-on-Shannon
Mayo – Castlebar – O’Hara Charlestown – Stephens Ballina
Roscommon – Hyde Park – Athleague – St Brigid’s Kiltoom
Sligo – Markievicz Park Sligo – Kilcoyne Tubbercurry – Corran Ballymote


Armagh – Armagh – Davitt Lurgan – Crossmaglen
Antrim – Casement Park Belfast – Loughgiel – Corrigan Park Belfast – McQuillan Ballycastle
Cavan – Breffni Park Cavan – Cootehill – Kingscourt
Derry – Celtic Park Derry – Owenbeg – Ballinascreen – O’Donovan Rossa Magherafelt
Donegal – MacCumhaill Ballybofey – O’Donnell Letterkenny – Ballyshannon
Down – Newry – Newcastle – Ballycran
Fermanagh – Brewster Enniskillen – Lisnaskea – St Molaise Irvinestown
Monaghan – Clones – Castleblayney – Emmett Carricmacross – Iniskeen
Tyrone – Fr Campbell Coalisland – Healy Omagh – Plunkett Pomeroy – Dungannon


New York – Gaelic Park, Bronx
London – McGovern Park Ruislip